does jello contains pork gelatin

Does Jell-O Have Pork in It? – Discover 5 Key Facts About Jell-O

Picture this, you’re at a grocery store and getting a packet of chips or nachos.

It wouldn’t be very nice not to have some Jell-O with it.

That’s how much people like it.

Whether it be some live sports on TV or just some random time, Jell-O doesn’t need an occasion to be bought.

With plethora of flavors, it’s one of the most common items you’ll find at anyone’s home or shop.

But recently several folks have started asking if Jell-O contains pork products in it.

The answer is Yes.

It’s true, they use gelatin from pigskin and cook it to make it look like jelly.

You should know that it has some health benefits as well such as improving brain function, sleep, bones health, etc.

In this article, I will be focusing more on Jell-O products and their connection with the pork.

Is Jell-O a Pork Product?

In a short answer, Yes, it is.

Jell-O uses a protein called collagen which is found in almost every animal including humans as well.

Its function is to make the tissues elastic and strengthen them.

Currently, this collagen in Jell-O is received from the pigskin.

Earlier, cows also used to contribute to it.

The collagen doesn’t get mixed with water right away.

It needs to be treated with either an acid or base and then it gets boiled which brings us to that jelly substance.

During this process, the manufacturers add artificial sweeteners and flavors.

And then, they use the jelly and shape it the way they want.

Making jelly at home isn’t that difficult but making exact Jell-O would be somewhat tedious.

Here, gelatin is available in the market that’s of pigskin or pork.

You can simply mix it with water, sugar, flavor, and color (optional) and you’re good to go.

Recommended Articles for You:

2 Simple Methods to Keep Your Pulled Pork Fresh

Know How Many Times You can Refreeze Pork Ribs Safely

4 Reasons Why Your Pork Ribs Smell Like Rotten Eggs

Does Jell-O Pudding Have Pork in It?

Jell-O puddings would be considered a good dessert.

The tonnes of variety makes our hunt difficult as all of them are delicious.

But you may ask whether they also contain pig skin gelatin or not.

Unfortunately Yes, it does contains elements of pigskin.

Basically, the Jell-O pudding consists of gelatin which as mentioned above, is made of pigskin and cow.

Not only in Jell-O, but this ingredient is used in some ice creams, and marshmallows as well.

The protein (gelatin) provides stretchy behaviour to Jell-O puddings which is the reason why it’s been sold so much.

The gelatin which they use comes from collagen that also includes bones.

They have been put under certain conditions to convert them into gelatin.

You may not know but even our favorite marshmallows are also made up of gelatin.

There’s one thing in common, they are tasty.

Plus, gelatin is considered as good for bones and brain functioning.

Hence, it won’t do any harm to your health if you take it occasionally.

But remember, Jell-O doesn’t need an occasion to get to you.

Moderate consumption is all you need when it comes to Jell-O pudding eating.

What Jell-O Does not Have Pork or Is There Vegan Jell-O?

Being a vegetarian has its pros and cons.

As you already know that Jell-O is being made of gelatin which is obtained from pork or pigskin.

This simply means it will not be a suitable product for consumption if you are a vegetarian or vegan person.

So, the main question is if there are any vegan or pork-free Jell-O available in the market.

The answer to this question is “Yes”.

You can find their alternatives and can even make one using just two ingredients.

Who knew making vegan Jell-O was going to be so easy?

Let’s take a look at the alternatives first.

Jel Shots should be your first choice as they not only make vegan jelly but also are highly rated vegan product and have recyclable packaging.

So, you’re helping the environment as well.

Simply Delish also should make to your list as they are easy to make, pocket friendly, and low in calories.

You can also try Lieber’s unflavored gelatin, where, you can make your gelatin and add your favorite flavor and sweeteners to it.

Now, onto the second part, how to make your own vegan Jell-O at home?

For that, you will be needing Agar Agar Powder.

This is a plant based gelatin powder which is made from 100% natural red algae and it is sugar free, gluten free, and non-GMO by nature.

Take it as a vegan substitute for pork gelatin.

They come in the form of packet of gelatin flakes.

So, simply take any fruit juice (like apple or grape) and start boiling.

Once it’s boiled, add the flakes to it.

Mix them well and place them in a container or lined pan.

Refrigerate them for a few hours and voilà, you’ve made yourself a delicious dessert.

Does Gelatin Contain Pork Products?

There are certain things you might not know about gelatin.

But first, let’s answer the question.

Yes, pork products are used in the manufacturing of gelatin.

But let’s take a look where else it’s being used rather than just Jell-O and marshmallows.

The gelatin has multiple usages in wide varieties of products other than just the food.

It’s been used in shampoos, cosmetics, photographic film, as a coating on medicines, etc.

Plus, they also help in clearing wines.

Now, let’s decipher a myth that gelatin is made from pork.

No, it’s the bones and the pig skin where the majority of it is being extracted.

Furthermore, other animals can also give us gelatin but pig offers better yield than most of them.

However, you must also know that there are vegan alternatives in the form of Agar Agar and Carrageenan Powder.

Carrageenan is extracted from red seaweed whereas Agar Agar is a extracted from red algae.

Both of them are good thickening agents.

What Products Contain Pork Gelatin?

So, till now we know that marshmallows and Jell-O are made from pork gelatin.

But which other products have pork gelatin?

It may come to you as a surprise that one of your daily household products also has gelatin.

Let’s start with your favourite candies.

Apart from Jell-O, you’ll find gummy bears and chews to have gelatin.

Furthermore, the anchovy paste you add to your Caesar salad also has gelatin.

Products regarding Omega-3 and peanuts are also on the list.

Peanuts have it because it helps in getting them the salty taste and makes the spices stick to the nuts.

You may be surprised but the sugar you consume is also made from the bones.

Sugar isn’t white, it’s been made using bone char.

Alcoholic beverages like beer and wine also contain this.

They get it during the clarification process.

The same applies to juice production. 

All of these facts imply that you must be cautious while consuming these food products, specially when you are vegan or vegetarian.

If you are non-vegetarian and use these products on a daily basis, I will still recommend you to consume them moderately.


1 thought on “Does Jell-O Have Pork in It? – Discover 5 Key Facts About Jell-O”

  1. Pingback: Is Knox Gelatin Halal? - Learn How to BBQ

Comments are closed.